The Fulbright Scholar program is named after former U.S. Sen. J. William Fulbright, an Arkansas Democrat whose drive for mutual understanding between people and countries had a profound effect on America’s foreign policy. The State Department program sponsors exchanges between citizens of the U.S. and other countries.

Distinguished Chair Awards

These awards, among Fulbright’s most prestigious, go to prominent scholars with significant teaching and publication records. Up to 43 awards are given for distinguished lecturing, research or a combination; awards are for three to 12 months.

In 2014-15, Jay Gillette received the Fulbright-Nokia Distinguished Chair in Information and Communications Technologies to the University of Oulu, Finland. Gillette, a professor of information and communication sciences, is believed to be Ball State’s only Distinguished Chair recipient.

At the university, Gillette worked to increase interest in the relationship among broadband service, the community and economic development. He also was honorary chair of the Oulu Smart City Seminar in May 2015. And he gave the opening keynote at a 2015 academic information sciences conference in Brno, Czech Republic.

Core Scholars

Core Scholars can teach, do research or both in about 130 countries for two to 12 months. Below is a list of former and current Ball State faculty Core Scholars.

If we missed a current or past faculty member who won a Distinguished Chair, Core Scholar or Global Flex award, please send relevant information to Judy Wolf.


Lee Florea, geological sciences, Babeş-Bolyai University, Cluj-Napoca, Romania


Nihal Perera, urban planning, Yangon Technological University, Myanmar


Gilbert Park, foundations of education, Kongju National University, South Korea


John Ambrosio, educational studies, University of the Free State, South Africa

Lawrence Gerstein, psychology, The Chinese University of Hong Kong


James Connolly, U.S. history, Free University of Berlin, Germany

Francine Friedman, political science, University of Sarajevo, Bosnia and Herzegovina

Ronald Kovac, information sciences and systems, Technical University, Slovak Republic


Ken Hall, history, Royal University of Phnom Penh, Cambodia


Ray Montagno, business management, University of Applied Science Jena, Germany


Dom Caristi, telecommunications, National and Kapodistrian University of Athens, Greece


Harold Mortimer, musical theater and voice, Tshwane University of Technology, Pretoria, South Africa


Nihal Perera, urban planning, Hong Kong Baptist University


John Pichtel, remediation/environmental engineering, University College Cork, Ireland


Ken Hall, history/comparative religious studies, Gadja Madah University, Indonesia


Jay Bagga, computer science, program development, research, University of Zimbabwe in Harare


Chris Airriess, geography, Hong Kong Baptist University.


John Pichtel, bioremediation, Tampere University of Technology, Finland


Dom Caristi, telecommunications and journalism, University of Ljubljana, Slovenia

Teh-Kuang Chang, political science, Shanghai International Studies University, China


Elizabeth M. Riddle, linguistics, Adam Mickiewicz University, Poznań, Poland


H.A. Jeep, education, University of Karachi, Pakistan


Robert LaFollette, social sciences, Pedagogical Academy (now Pedagogical College), Oldenburg, West Germany


Budd Gambee, library science, American College for Girls (now Ramses College for Girls) and Institute of Education, Cairo