Faculty Artist Series
Start: March 11, 2024 5:30 p.m.
End: March 11, 2024 7 p.m.
Location: Sursa Performance Hall
Contact Details
Cara Chowning


Trio Village

Trio Village is comprised of flutist Rebecca Johnson, oboist Elizabeth Sullivan, and pianist Cara Chowning, who teach at Eastern Illinois University, the University of North Carolina at Charlotte, and Ball State University, respectively. In its 13th anniversary season, Trio Village was originally formed as a way to continue to make music with friends in who lived in disparate locations, providing not only a professional village of support for each other, but also for their families. As an ensemble, they strive to champion the music of historically excluded composers as well as working to discover older works that are not standard to the chamber music canon. Their work is included on Dr. Sullivan’s recently released recording of music for oboe by Thea Musgrave, and the group regularly performs on university recital series’ and at conferences.


Program to include works for piano and wind trio by Thea Musgrave, Alyssa Morris, Kelly Vaneman, and two newly-commissioned works for Trio Village by Brandon Smith and Shawn Okpebholo. 


This recital will also be offered as a livestream - visit the Concert Livestream Page to watch live. Streaming begins approximately 15 minutes prior to scheduled concert start time.

Free Admission

This recital is free and open to the public.


Parking is available in the McKinley Parking Garage (entrance on Ashland Avenue) located immediately south of Sursa Hall. On weekdays, metered parking ($1/hr) is available on the first floor of the garage until 7 p.m. at which time parking is free. This garage is free on weekends.