About the School of Art

Our award-winning faculty practice their craft around the world, and you'll get to work with them one-on-one in some of the best studios in the country. Our programs are accredited by the National Association of School of Art and Design.

Neutrality is not an option.

The School of Art at Ball State University declares unequivocally that


and stands in solidarity with the Black Lives Matter movement and the numerous peaceful protests happening across the country in the wake of the death of George Floyd.
We know the arts play a powerful role in educating and inspiring communities and we commit ourselves to using this power to actively fight racial injustice in all its forms.

We are witnessing a long overdue cultural reckoning in which
bigotry and white supremacy will no longer be tolerated.
We pledge as faculty to not remain neutral in the face of discrimination.
We will turn inward to examine our own cultural biases and confront them head-on.
We will interrogate unjust, historically entrenched practices within our own department and respect the voices of people of color and other marginalized perspectives.
We will make time for meaningful action against these issues that threaten
our collective humanity.

Neutrality is not an option



Rest in Power:

Trayvon Martin, Eric Garner, John Crawford, Michael Brown, Ezell Ford, Dante Parker, Michelle Cusseaux, Laquan McDoland, George Mann, Tanisha Anderson, Akai Gurley, Rumain Bisbon, Jerame Reid, Matthew Ajibade, Frank Smart, Natasha McKenna, Tony Robinson, Anthony Hill, Mya Hall, Phillip White, Eric Harris, Walter Scout, William Chapman II, Alexia Christia, Brendon Glenn, Victor Manuel Larosa, Johnathan Sanders, Freddie Blue, Joseph Mann, Salvado Ellswood, Sandra Bland, Albert Joseph Davis, Darrius Stewart, Billy Ray Davis, Samuel Dubose, Michael Sabbie, Brian Keith Day, Christian Taylor, Troy Robinson, Asshams Pharoah Manley, Felix Kumi, Keith Harrison McLeod, Junior Prosper, Lamontez Jones, Patterson Brown, Dominic Hutchinson, Anthony Ashford, Alonzo Smith, Tyree Crawford, India Kager, La’vante Briggs, Michael Lee Marshall, Jamar Clark, Richard Perkins, Nathaniel Harris Pickett, Benni Lee Tignor, Miguel Espinal, Michael Noel, Kevin Matthews, Bettie Jones, Quintonio Legrier, Keith Childress Jr., Janet Wilson, Randy Nelson, Antronie Scott, Wendell Celestine, David Joseph, Calin Roquemore, Dyzhawn Perkins, Christopher Davis, Marco Loud, Peter Gaines, Torrey Robinson, Darius Robinson, Kevin Hicks, Mary Truxillo, Demarcus Semer, Willie Tillman, Terrill Thomas, Sylville Smooth, Alton Sterling, Terence Crutcher, Paul O’Neal, Alteria Woods, Jordan Edwards, Aaron Bailey, Ronell Foster, Antwon Rose II, Pamela Turner, Dominique Clayton, Atatiana Jefferson, Christopher Whitfield, Christopher McCorvey, Eric Reason, Michael Lorenzo Dean, Botham Jean, Ahmaud Arbery, Tamir Rice, Stephon Clark, Philando Castile, Breonna Taylor, Rayshard Brooks, George Floyd…

The Intersection of Talent, Skill, and Scholarship

With a dozen areas of specialization, we offer a variety of challenging and rewarding experiences in traditional and contemporary forms of art. If you're interested, you'll need to apply to both the university and directly to the School of Art.


We host a variety of events, including exhibitions, lectures, community classes, and workshops.

Upcoming Events

There are no upcoming events to display.

Award Winning Faculty

NASAD Accredited School of Art

Student Work Gallery

We're Here to Help!

Can't find what you're looking for? Got questions?

Ball State School of Art

Art and Journalism Building (AJ) Room 401
Ball State University
Muncie, IN 47306



Connect With Us!